Post Office Horses
The castle of Ormes
The castle of Ormes, overlooking the valley of the Vienne, was built in 1642. It was enlarged in 1729 by Marc-Pierre Voyer d’Argenson, the friend of the Enlightenment and philosophers who dedicated him the Encyclopedia. The castle sheltered famous guests, especially Voltaire.
Visitors can admire the main courtyard, the large marble gallery, the Pussort wing, the Argenson wing, the high reception rooms, the ancient kitchens of the 17th and 18th centuries and a recently restored 17th century cooler.
All year by appointment, except Tuesdays, and open every day from June 1 to September 30 from 14h to 18h. Opening for Heritage Days and French gardens.
Reduced prices, ask the reception
Château des Ormes
22-28 rue Pierre d’Argenson
86220 Ormes (Les)
Tél. : +33 (0)5 49 21 83 65
Distance 12 km